One Nation, Under God.

My boys and I were doing some reading last night to kick off Easter week.  We were reading in John and one of the verses that started some good discussion was John 17:22-23.

“I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one:  I in them and you in me.  May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”

I have heard some use this verse, and others like it, to show how God and Jesus are not one but separate beings. While that is a topic for another post, I think that more important Jesus is showing us how important it is for us, as believers and followers of Christ, to come together.  We have to show the world that we are united in our worship of God.

And it starts right in our homes.  If you are not working with your family to make sure that you are all on the same page how are you going to bring the message of Christ to others.  Abraham Lincoln said, “A house divided against itself cannot stand.”  Absolutely right!  This should be something that starts in our homes, our church, our community, our city, our country and eventually encompasses the entire body of Christ throughout the whole world.

Husbands and fathers, it is our job to make sure that our house is united under God.  It is our responsibility to make sure that if someone were to ask any member of our family a question about what our family believes about Jesus, they would get one answer, He is our saviour and we follow Him.

As the Easter week gets into full swing take a quick inventory of where your family stands and make sure that you are all on the same page.  Step up as the leader of your family and rally your troops.  Follow the example set by Joshua; “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15)

Leave a comment