Why won’t you answer me God??

This morning our pastor was talking about something that my wife and I have been struggling with for a while now (incidentally I added a link to pod casts from our church, First Baptist).  In a nutshell the idea is centered around our struggle with why God doesn’t answer our prayers according to our timeline and the way we expect them to be answered.  I know, the nerve right?  Isn’t God supposed to be answering our prayers and doing what is best for us?  Doesn’t he know that what we are praying for is what we know is best for us?

 

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, and your ways are not My ways.” [This is] the Lord’s declaration. “For as heaven is higher than earth, so My ways are higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8–9

Man, isn’t that the truth!  When we don’t feel like God is listening to us or that He is not answering our prayers like we expect here are two important things to remember:

1) Silence from God doesn’t mean He is absent.

2) When God moves in quiet and unseen ways it is just as deliberate and intentional on His part, as when he moves in active, awesome and obvious ways.

How often do we think that because we are not hearing God or that he is not, apparently, answering our prayers that we must be doing something wrong.  That we aren’t praying hard enough, giving enough, reading enough, listening well enough, being good enough, etc.

I have found myself doing that a lot lately; and what I have come to realize is that no matter what I do, or how well I do it, it will never be good enough!  That’s the point!  There is no way that we can ever be good enough, pray hard enough, live right enough to get to God and receive his blessing on our own.  If there was we would have no need for Jesus!

What we have to remember is that God always loves us, God always wants the best for us, God always hears our prayers, and God always answers our prayers.  Sometimes God does not always answer our prayers the way we want them to be answered but He always answers them in the way that is best for us.  We may not see it today, or tomorrow, but it is always in a way that is best for us.

So the next time you feel like God isn’t listening, or that He isn’t answering your prayers remember that, He is.  Take a step back, believe that God is taking care of you, trust that He has your best interest in mind and know that He is, one way or another, going to answer your prayer.

 

2 thoughts on “Why won’t you answer me God??

  1. Great post, so absolutely true.. We want to turn it into works. But God will be God and to me whether he answers how I want is not what matters.. It’s that we came to him with it.. Blessings

Leave a Reply

