Make an Impact for God

Here is a question to start your day off… what are you doing to impact to world for God?

This is a question that I have been asking of myself and my family lately and truthfully the answer is, not very much.  I have been living my life as a good person (mostly!), going to work, going to church, and providing for my family.  Basically all the things that are expected of me.

What I realized is that the things that I have been focused on are not always Godly things, but selfish things.  I have been too focused on my hobbies, my wants, my goals and not enough on God’s desires for my life, God’s purpose, and spreading God’s word and love.

I have been reading Radical by David Platt and he has some great thoughts on this subject.  Here is a quote from his book where he is talking about what church and Christians in America have become, “We live decent lives in decent homes with decent jobs and decent families as decent citizens.  We are decent church members with little more impact on the world than we had before we were saved.”

I will pose the question again as your thought for the day (and mine too).  Are you just going through the motions of life or are you making an impact on the world for God?

2 thoughts on “Make an Impact for God

  1. Man! Between this and “Costly Grace”/”Cost of Discipleship”, I’m getting hammered! 😉
    Actually, it’s all good. What we need to hear and do.
    Thanks!

    • HaHaHa! I hear you! I have been challenged with a lot lately too. It’s good to know that God always has our best interest in mind and that no matter what trials he puts us in, he always equips us to handle them!

      Ethan

Leave a Reply

